Class A Misdemeanor

Class A Misdemeanor in Indiana

A Class A Misdemeanor is the highest misdemeanor charge in the state of Indiana.  Being convicted of a Class A Misdemeanor can have a dire impact on your future.  Hiring an experienced criminal attorney in Lafayette, West Lafayette, or Tippecanoe County is imperative to your defense.  If you have been arrested, give Vonderheide and Knecht a call as early as possible so that we can go to work for you!

Prison Sentences and Fines

The potential prison sentence is up to 1 year in the local county jail.  Indiana Law provides latitude in the sentences such as work release, home detention, or even probation.  The fine associated with a Class A Misdemeanor charge is up to $5,000.00.

What to do if you have been arrested

Examples of a Class A Misdemeanor are Theft under $750, Battery with Bodily Injury, Domestic Battery, Dealing in Marijuana, Possession of a Controlled Substance, Trespass, Possession of a Synthetic Drug, Driving while Suspended, Resisting Law Enforcement, and Carrying a Handgun without a License.  Don’t wait to hire an experienced lawyer like Vonderheide and Knecht.  Many procedural steps must be made after your arrest to protect your rights.  The earlier that you hire an experienced attorney, the more you will have your rights protected.  Call Vonderheide and Knecht today at 765-423-2557.